Machine Intelligence and Complex Systems Lab

Principal Investigator

Saptarshi Sengupta

Saptarshi Sengupta, PhD

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

San José State University, San José, California, United States 

Area: Cyber Physical Systems, Machine Learning, Risk/Reliability Analysis, Optimization, Complex Systems

[Homepage] [Google Scholar] [Linkedin] [Email: saptarshi.sengupta@sjsu.edu]

Research Assistants (Graduate)

Rohan Mohapatra

Rohan Mohapatra

Hometown: Bengaluru, India

Area: Reliability Science, Hard Disk Drive Health Analysis, Attention-driven Models, Long Short-Term Memory 

rohan.mohapatra@sjsu.edu

Pooja Krishan

Pooja Krishan

Hometown: Chennai, India

Area: Robust Forecasting in Multivariate Time-Series Problems, Deep Learning 

pooja.krishan@sjsu.edu

Avinash Mangalore Suresh

Avinash Mangalore Suresh

 Hometown: Bengaluru, India

Area:  Frequncy Domain Prognostics 

avinash.mangaloresuresh@sjsu.edu

Chinmay Nilesh Mahagaonkar

Hometown: Pune, India

Area: NLP,  Large language models, Healthcare AI

chinmaynilesh.mahagaonkar@sjsu.edu

Mridang Kejriwal

 Hometown: Howrah, India

Area:  Healthcare AI 

mridang.kejriwal@sjsu.edu

Research Assistants (Undergraduate)

Karthik Manishankar

Hometown: Pleasanton, California

Area: Large-Language Models + GPT

karthik.manishankar@sjsu.edu

Leonardo Kildani

Hometown: Gilroy, California

Area: Natural Language Processing

leonardo.kildani@sjsu.edu

Chirag Kaudan

Hometown: Fremont, California

Area: Theoretical Computer Science, Discrete Mathematics

chirag.kaudan@sjsu.edu

Research Assistants - Project Engineering Success (US Department of Education)

Aakash Krishnan

Hometown: San Jose, California

Area: Computational Linguistics, ML

aakash.krishnan@sjsu.edu


Arnav Doshi

Hometown: Sunnyvale, California

Area: Cybersecurity, Deep Learning 

arnav.doshi@sjsu.edu

Akshay Kamath

Hometown: San Jose, California

Area:  Deep Learning

akshay.kamath@sjsu.edu


Troy Paulus Asia

Hometown: San Pablo City, Philippines

Area:  Machine Learning

troypaulus.asia@sjsu.edu


Alan Xu

Hometown: Sunnyvale, California

Area:  ML, Deep Learning

alan.xu@sjsu.edu


Research Interns

Shourya Gupta

Institution: Manipal Institute of Technology, India

Hometown: 

Area:  Generative AI for Disease Incidence Modeling

13.shourya@gmail.com

Abhinav Shrivastva

Institution: Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

Hometown: Jamshedpur, India

Area: Turbofan Engine Degradation Analysis

abhinavshrivastva@kgpian.iitkgp.ac.in

Prabhat Kumar

Institution: Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

Hometown: Patna, India

Area: Turbofan Engine Degradation Analysis

prabhatkgpaz@gmail.com

Krishnaraj Chadaga

Institution: Manipal Institute of Technology, India

Hometown: Manipal, India

Area: Healthcare AI

krishnaraj.chadaga1@learner.manipal.edu

Research Associates

Ankita Mishra

Hometown: Mumbai, India

Area: MLOps for Generative AI

ankita.mishra@sjsu.edu

Collaborators

Our collaborators include the following entities:

Walmart Global Tech, USA

IBM Research, USA

Hugging Face, USA

Moss Landing Marine Laboratory, USA

Institute for Software Integrated Systems, Vanderbilt University, USA

Manipal Institute of Technology, India

Kasturba Medical College and Hospital, Mangalore, India

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur

Alumni

Gaurav Shinde | Next Position: Computer Science PhD Program at the University of Maryland, Baltimore, MD

William Mincher | Next Position: Firmware Engineer, SpaceX,  Sunnyvale, CA.

Brian Tran | Next Position: Unknown.

Kevin Lo | Next Position: Artificial Intelligence Graduate Program, Stanford University, Stanford, CA.

Saurabh S. Agrawal | Next Position: Software Engineer at PayPal, San Jose, CA

Austin Coursey | Next Position: PhD Student at Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN (NSF Graduate Research Fellow)

Adam Pickens | Next Position: Analyst at Stored Value Solutions in Louisville, KY

Juyeong Ryu | Next Position: Software Developer at United Systems and Software, Benton, KY